Fine & Dandy

 

I have loved The Dandy Warhols since I was a teenager. When I was studying for my A Levels, breaks in revision consisted of me watching MTV2 until they played a song I loved. Once that happened, I was ready to go back to work. During these study breaks, I heard ‘Not If You Were The Last Junkie On Earth’ for the first time and my love affair with The Dandy Warhols took root. From there I bought Thirteen Tales From Urban Bohemia; it was unlike any album I had listened too before. I was hooked. Since then I have listened to everything and anything of theirs that I could get my hands on, including their latest album,¬†Distortland, which was released in April this year.

I have a list of bands I have always wanted to see in concert. Over the years I have managed to tick off some big names from that list; The Dandy Warhols, however, stubbornly remained on it – until last night that is. The Limelight 2, ¬†Belfast, played host to the band’s first ever Belfast gig, and I could not wait to see them live.

When I arrived the venue was already packed with people enjoying the support set by Happyness. With everyone already in good spirits, the atmosphere soon ramped up a few notches when The Dandy Warhols took to the stage. As well as some cracking songs from the new album, my favourites being ‘STYGGO’ and ‘You Are Killing Me’, they also played a good mix of their classic tracks. I got super excited and very nostalgic when they played my old time jam ‘Not If You Were The Last Junkie On Earth’ as well as ‘We Used To Be Friends’ and ‘Godless’. The band interacted with the crowd superbly and when playing ‘Everyday Should Be A Holiday’, lead singer Courtney Taylor-Taylor turned a second microphone to the crowd and was passionately serenaded in return. Not surprisingly, the song that really got the crowd going was ‘Bohemian Like You’. Even if you think you don’t know The Dandy Warhols, you are bound to recognise this catchy song from its use in a Vodafone advert in the early noughties.

As with all good things, the gig had to come to an end. It ended on a high with the band belting out ‘Boys Better’ before exiting stage right leaving only keyboardist Zia McCabe behind, who performed a rousing solo much to the crowd’s delight. With parting words that this may have been The Dandy Warhols first gig in Belfast but it wouldn’t be their last, the night’s festivities came to an end. After such an epic concert, which surpassed all my expectations, I can honestly¬†say The Dandy Warhols were worth the wait.

Posted 28/05/2016

Leave a Reply

