We Are Your Friends

national-best-friend-day-1.png

Today is National Best Friend Day. I did not realise this was a thing but what a fabulous thing to celebrate. However, I would not say I only have one best friend; I am very lucky that I have several.

Not to sound super sappy but the husband is my BFF. We have the same daft sense of humour and whenever I am wound up, he knows how to talk me down – well, unless he’s the cause of my mood! No matter how angry I am about a situation, he can generally have me laughing in no time, especially when he makes fun of my culchie accent.

My sister, Gail, in the words of Meredith Grey and Christina Yang in Grey’s Anatomy, is ‘my person’. When I need a shoulder to cry on or someone to plot revenge with, she’s the person I always turn too.

My friend Helen is my oldest friend. Whilst we are now older and wiser, ok maybe not wiser, whenever we get together we revert to our childhood selfs. It’s amazing to have someone who you grew up with and someone who you have so many memories with. She bought me a fridge magnet once saying: “You will always be my friend, you know too much!” It sums us up perfectly.

A lot of girls have a ‘work husband’ but I have a ‘work wife’. Bronagh and I are like a married couple. Whilst we may bicker and fight now and again, we are always a team and always have each other’s backs. She’s also my cocktail and dancing partner – Friday’s don’t get much better.

Then there’s my ‘sister from a different mister’. Frankie was my sister’s mate long before I had the pleasure of meeting her. However after a visit to Geordie land I got to meet the lovely Francesca – and we got on like a house on fire. Since then she is part of the family. We are often plane hopping to see each other and I am currently on the count down to her next visit to NI at the end of the month.

Every girl needs a boy best friend – I have two! Alan is my brother-in-law. We can literally talk until the sun comes up, whether it is simply shooting the breeze or putting the world to rights, we never run out of things to rant about! The other is Andy, he is my partner in crime when it comes to randomness. He gets my obsession with the Lonely Island and he introduced me to Babymetal. We are incredibly silly when we are together and have even got our own handshake.

Finally, although they are my parents, two of my bestest friends ever are my mum and dad. We are a tight family and one of my all time favourite things is to go back home home and hang out with the rentals. My mum has the most fantastic and mischievous sense of humour. We have so much in common and can talk about anything and everything. She is also the most caring person ever and I admire her so much. My dad is a legend. We do our best bonding over bacardi. He helps encourage me to push myself, to get out of my comfort zone and try something new. He also taught me how to change a fuse and the DIY basics, I am now a proper wee Bob the Builder.

So, these are some of my favourite people. So this National Best Friend Day, I want to tell them how awesome they all are and how lost I would be without them. Whoever you BFF is, be sure to show them your love today and always!

Posted: 8/6/2016

2 thoughts on “We Are Your Friends

Leave a Reply

