It’s Only Rock ’n’ Roll, But I Like It

I grew up in a house where music was a way of life. If it wasn’t watching Top of The Pops, it was reading Smash Hits. It took my sister and I to leave home before my dad could get the television switched over from MTV; watching back to back music videos was (and still is) our thing. This love of music definitely came from my mum. Her musical tastes range from T. Rex to Frankie Valli & the Four Seasons as well as Robbie Williams and Adele; her love of music is all encompassing. One particular genre that always had a home in our house, however, was rock music. Bon Jovi, Def Leppard and Bryan Adams were very much the soundtrack of my youth. For this reason, I am a huge fan of Raised on Rock, a local cover band that belts out all the classics when it comes to rock anthems.

I have seen them once before and so I was delighted to see them return to The Empire, Belfast, on Saturday night. When we arrived, The Empire was already hiving with people. We didn’t have long to wait for the band to take to the stage and the atmosphere was immediately electric. The band, as well as being super talented musicians, certainly know how to work a crowd. The entire audience acted as backing vocalists on many of the tracks. Whilst not as gifted as lead singer Mark Graham when it comes to belting out a tune, the audience participation did, however, make the gig so much more intimate.

The set list for the night was fab, there was a real selection of big anthems. From Meatloaf toWhitesnake, AC/DC  to Foreigner, there was definitely a favourite for everyone. I loved when the band sang a cover of Bon Jovi’s ‘Bed of Roses’; the audience sang their hearts out, and as well as being a magical moment you could really feel the love in the room.

I left The Empire with sore feet from dancing about and a none existent voice from singing along; two signs of a brilliant night in my opinion. So, if you love a healthy dose of rock ‘n’ roll and you haven’t seen Raised on Rock before, be sure to keep an eye out for their next gig, I know I will.

 

Posted: 13/06/2016

Leave a Reply

