Skin Deep


I have struggled with spot prone skin since I was a teenager. It reached its peak in my early twenties and since then I have always lacked a bit of confidence with my skin. At its worse I tried everything; from topical lotions and herbal supplements to the old wives tale of toothpaste – trust me this was a hilarious spectacle. You name it, I tried it. Whilst my skin is so much better now, I still suffer breakouts, which still make my confidence plummet. 

During a recent breakout I was in Urban Pharmacy on Belfast’s Dublin Road. I love this place as I always find the customer service to be exceptional. Anyway, they had a special offer on the Avène’s Cleanance Anti-Blemish Expert Kit recently. I must admit, I hadn’t heard much about this range, however after speaking to one of the members of staff who personally recommended it, I figured I had nothing to lose.

The Avène’s Cleanance Anti-Blemish Expert Kit is a three step regime that cleanses, soothes and moisturises skin whilst also helping to fight spots and blackheads. Step one is to use the Avène’s Cleanance Cleansing Gel, which is suitable for the face and body. This gentle formula, which is perfect for oily skin as it helps regulate excess sebum, smells lovely, lathers up nicely and leaves skin feeling cleansed and soft. Step two is to apply Avène Thermal Spring Water. I love this stuff, you spray it onto your skin with instantly refreshing results. As well as soothing irritated skin, whether from spots, a shaving rash or sunburn, this versatile spray is my favourite thing ever as it also helps to wake me right up and get ready to face humanity first thing in morning – no mean feat I tell you as I am definitely not a morning person. The final step is to apply the Avène Cleanance Expert Emulsion. This also smells lush and as well as soaking straight in, it leaves skin feeling hydrated without leaving a greasy finish. This moisturiser is very hard working and promises to exfoliate, unclog pores and help eliminate spots. What I have found as well is that a little goes a long way, a pea sized amount is more than enough for your face. 

Whilst the packaging sounds too good to be true, I have to say I’ve noticed a huge improvement in my skin since I started using Avène. I have been using the Avène’s Cleanance Anti-Blemish Expert Kit for about a month now and since then I have had the odd spot here and there but no major breakouts. My skin, which was super dry and verging on displaying scales to make a dragon envious, is much more hydrated, soft and definitely less red than before. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Avène, it’s certainly helped boost my skin confidence, and it’s also a much better look than a toothpaste smeared face, trust me!
Posted: 19/08/2016

4 thoughts on “Skin Deep

  1. Sounds like it doesn’t work since you’re still getting acne. The thermal water is bs imo. I posted lots of acne tips on my blog

    Like

    1. Thanks for.the comment. I wouldn’t say it is guaranteed to clear acne or spot prone skin 100% for everyone but it has really helped improve my skin condition and reduce my breakouts in frequency and severity. I will definitely visit your blog though and check out your tips for treating acne as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

