Summer Holiday 

I haven’t posted in a while as I have been enjoying the sunny delights of Menorca with my husband Keith as well as my sister Gail, my brother-in-law Alan and their tiny human Rachel. 

This was the first holiday abroad we have all taken together and so it could have easily been a disaster; an 18 month old really rules the roost and sets the schedule. However, it was a very fun filled trip which mixed chilling by the pool and building sandcastles at the beach with day trips to a gin distillery and a boat ride across the gorgeous Mahon harbour as well as a little bartering at the local market. 

Our home during our stay was an apartment at Son Bou Gardens. It was spacious, had everything you needed including a lovely spot on the porch to sit and relax in the sun, and most importantly the apartment was in walking distance of three pools, the beach and a host of shops, bars and restaurants. Booked through Thomson Holidays, we were welcomed on arrival by Ryan, our designated tour rep for our stay. Ryan was available most days if we had any questions about the area or wanted to book any tours. He was an enthusiastic and friendly point of contact and definitely helped us make the most of our experience.

As my husband Keith says, I am a bit obsessed with sunsets, and so it is probably not surprising that the highlight of the trip for me was when the five of us went to dinner at lovely restaurant on the beach which gave the perfect view as the sun began to set. Once we had finished eating we had time to paddle in the ocean (the boys even got their feet wet but as they both had trainers on it was purely accidental on their part) as the sun made its final descent turning the sky alive with s palette of the most beautiful colours. I had a brilliant time snapping photos to my heart’s content and I will always cherish the memory of seeing such a beautiful sunset with some of my most favourite people. 

Menorca, the most chilled and probably family friendly of the Balearic Islands, definitely was a different holiday for us, however I can honestly say I loved every minute of it.  I think the best thing about going on holiday with a child, however, is that it really allows you to reconnect with your own inner child – this was certainly true for Keith who had as much fun building sandcastles as Rachel did. Whilst it’s always sad returning from a holiday you have been so looking forward to, I am back in Belfast with a bit of a tan and most importantly a load of lovely memories. 

I snapped a gazillion pictures of the sunset in Menorca but this is definitely my favourite.

Posted: 22/09/2016

Leave a Reply

