Happy Father’s Day 

I am very lucky that my parents are also my best friends; I adore spending time with them. There is no place like home home to get any problems I’m having off my chest, to get advice on any situations that are bothering me as well as to have a good, stomach-aching giggle. My parents are my role models and on Mother’s Day I embarrassed my mum with a blog post dedicated to her, so I felt it was only fair to do the same to my dad. 

Ever since I was little my dad has always been my go to person if something broke. From toys to jewellery, he could mend most things. As I’ve gotten older he is still the first person I call when something needs assembled, fixed or replaced. He has also taught me so much; not just how to drive a car, check my oil or to change a fuse (although that was a good one as I reckon my house has a Guinness World Record for blowing fuses), but also major life lessons such as to have confidence in myself, to follow my dreams and to believe I can do anything I put my mind to, and most importantly, he has taught me that there are few things more important than family. From his relationship with his own mother as well as his connection with his mother and father-in-law, he was always so selfless with his time and went above and beyond to help them anyway he could. When it comes to my mum, sister and me, not to mention his son in laws and, of course, granddaughter, I can honestly say there’s isn’t anything he wouldn’t do for us. 

As well as being loving, caring and supportive, my dad is also one of the bravest people I know. There have been a few serious potholes in his life’s journey that have rattled him, but he always keeps going. He is smart, creative (if you need proof see here) and the best haggler you will meet. He is sharp as a tack and has a wickedly good sense of humour. 

My dad has always set an example to me of what a good man is. As a result, when it came to dating I wasn’t one of those girls looking for a bad boy. I understand it’s the good ones that will look after you and, when he isn’t being a lunatic, I am pretty sure I married a good one. 

So today, when it’s all about the daddies, I just wanted to say happy father’s day to mine, I love you and I am very proud to be your daughter. 

Posted: 19/06/2017

Leave a Reply

