Little Burch gets published

With ever evolving lockdowns, I spent a lot of 2020 house bound. And so I didn’t have much to blog about. However, I decided during this time to learn a new skill: graphic illustration through software.

I’ve always had an interest in sketching with paper and pencil but I have always had a fascination for artwork created with software. However, I had no idea where to start. And so, after much googling, I purchased a cheap graphic tablet and started tinkering away trying to draw illustrations onscreen.

After I got a feel for it, I decided to set myself a goal, to write and illustrate a children’s book for my niece for Christmas.

After many drafts, I created a character based on my niece, drawn in the style of the LOL dolls she loves so much. The story came next, based on a family trip we took to Portrush in January 2020.

After lots of drawing hours, and proofing, Boo Bear and the Bug Go On An Adventure was finally ready for print. I got a small print run commissioned with Belfast-based Kaizen Print.

I have to admit I was so excited when I picked up the hard copy books from the printer in November. They looked better than expected and I have to say this was undoubtedly one of my proudest moments of 2020.

Anyway, here are a few snaps of the book. And who knows, maybe the Boo Bear books will become a series.

Posted 2/1/2021

Leave a comment